RSS

New Home

04 Oct

new digs

After an initial “I can’t take food from you” the kittens got used to their new mom, Pamela.  She writes:

“My old cat Spice was considerate enough to wake me at 2:30am this morning, so I could get up and feed the team. Everybody hungry and ate well.  I just finished spending a few hours with them this morning.  Everyone ate well.  I started and ended with Novena (blue)…think I fed her about 3 times before she finally toddled off for a nap.  Not getting many takers for the solid food, but that hasn’t been a focus yet.  Got 3 poops near the litter box, so added -belatedly- a shorter litter box that they can climb into much easier.  We’ll see how that goes.”

Now they’re over that initial reluctance, I think they’ll eat well enough to skip the midnight feedings.  Spice may enjoy the wee hour actiivity though.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on October 4, 2011 in From Pam and Stu

 

2 responses to “New Home

  1. Connie

    October 12, 2011 at 7:18 am

    Mixing a little A/D in with the formula will help them get through the night too.. and will make weaning a bit easier..

     
    • yetmorefosterkittens

      October 22, 2011 at 10:24 pm

      Shortly before weaning, I put a little canned food in their mouths to get them used to the notion and taste. Eventually, I have a tiny bowl of canned food mixed with formula to keep pushing at them. Generally, someone will get impatient waiting for a turn at the bottle and will start eating. If they start chewing nipples off or grabbing the bottle down to their belly, I really push the food.

       

Oooo...a comment!

 
