RSS

And Change Again

17 Feb

Sorry, no picture.

Dmitri started spraying around the house: the speaker last night, the heater and a (blank) pad of art newsprint.  By the smell, he’d hit some other spots.  So I restricted him to the computer room downstairs and sat with him much of the day.  From what I’ve read, it’s likely a stress reaction and a wish to claim the house, especially over Commie who is the only cat to dispute his rule.  He was very friendly and cuddly all afternoon.

Eventually I found the leash and harness and took him outside.  He was very intense about everything–he is used to being an indoor-outdoor cat.  He’d growl whenever I brought him out from awkward areas or back towards the house.  When I left the leash tied to the open door, he figured how to slip out of the harness, but he was slow enough for me to catch him.

Mackenzie called her Mom who decided to take him back.  She’s setting things up so he can go outside at will now that he can walk again.  His gimpy walk will attract predators, but if he stays close to his house, he may be fairly safe.  Our neighborhood has a lot of cat arguments this time of year; his may be quieter.  But, I think he will be happier in his old home and with being allowed outside on his own.  The goal isn’t the length of life but the pleasures.

And many of my mats throw rugs, and walls are cleaner now.  And the mornings should be quieter.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 17, 2012 in Home cats

 

Tags:

Oooo...a comment!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.