RSS

Fostering Others

02 Jun

i won't move a muscleA group called Cat Town (CatTownOakland.org) works with the Oakland SPCA and tries to get kittens out to foster families so they can be better people cats.  They don’t have a building so they’re not as concerned about contagious problems.  These two kittens are about three months old and have been at the Oakland shelter for over a month.  They are very shy and won’t be very adoptable that way.  So my task is to socialize them.

The girl–no names yet, so I’m thinking about it.  Russian name suggestions especially are welcome–is a little braver and left the carrier to hide in the scratcher-box.  She also ate from my fingers while sitting in my lap, after I pried her out of the carrier again.  She’ll even purr while I hold her, but she’s not relaxed yet.

The boy is bigger and more reserved, but eventually ate from my fingers while hiding in the carrier.  On my lap, he’s pretty rigid and freaked.

I’m waiting for the Sigh–when they finally relax and sigh because they’re letting out the tension.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on June 2, 2012 in CatTown Siblings

 

Tags: , ,

5 responses to “Fostering Others

  1. Mollie and Deb

    June 2, 2012 at 7:51 pm

    Boris and Natasha?
    Nadia
    When I read “these two kittens” I had to go back and really look at the photo….either there are 2 or one kitty has four ears

     
    • yetmorefosterkittens

      June 2, 2012 at 7:56 pm

      I was considering that, but Sergei is a possibility. Literature and Music are possible sources. Also, I want to wait until they can relax enough to show their personalities.

       
  2. Denise (Siscoe) Dilley

    June 5, 2012 at 4:35 pm

    Woohoo! More fosterlings! I hope that they do acclimate to people quickly, they are beautiful animals. Makes me wish that I lived closer 🙂

     
  3. Deborah Scranton

    December 11, 2012 at 5:24 pm

    Hi, trying to reach Denise Sicoe Dilley about some (Sischo) New Hampshire genealogy, and can’t find a valid email, but did find her on this comment thread. Sorry to intrude (although I do love kittens). Denise, could you please email me with a current email address? Mine is: deborahscranton at gmail.com Thank you!

     
    • yetmorefosterkittens

      December 11, 2012 at 10:20 pm

      i emailed her (and edited your comment to make auto-trolling for emails a little more work.) Good luck with the hunt.

       

Oooo...a comment!

 
