RSS

Powerless

07 Apr

We lost power last night around 9 and didn’t get it back until around noon.  A falling tree branch up the road took out a transformer.  My main concern was keeping these guys warm.  I found a hot water bottle but no stopper.  I ended up heating iron skillets on the stove or in the oven (we got a Peerless we can light with a match if there’s no electricity), wrapping the pan in a towel, putting the whole thing in a cloth bag, and putting it next to the kittens.  Simba was the first to decide that being in the pan was warmer.  My lap was better, when available.  We had one warmy disc warm, but it’s not as warm as they like it, especially by morning.

I also learned the best way with bottles was to heat water without heating the bottles (and forgetting them), pouring the water in a container with the bottles, and shaking the bottles frequently until they felt warm.  When done with the bottles, I stashed them in the freezer because they’d be colder and yet not freeze.

When power was restored, I had to remember to turn off the oven, wash the pans, and remove the bottles from the freezer.

Courtesy of my husband, we have a new hot water bottle.  It say tap water only, nothing above 120 deg F (49 C), and the plug is a different size from my old water bottle.

Sorry, no picture of kittens in a pan.  It wasn’t that obvious all wrapped up as it was.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on April 7, 2017 in 2017 Swahili

 

4 responses to “Powerless

  1. Heather Briggs

    April 7, 2017 at 4:08 pm

    Whoa! That’s quite the saga. Glad everyone stayed warm! Wish I could have been there to assist with cuddles. =)

     
    • yetmorefosterkittens

      April 7, 2017 at 4:12 pm

      it wasn’t very dire in that neighbors on either side still had power, and worst case, I even have a key to one neighbor’s house. But improvising worked.

       
  2. Connie

    April 7, 2017 at 4:22 pm

    we lost power here the other day but only for a couple of hours. I totally feel for you. That stove was a smart investment

     
  3. Deb and Willy and Molly

    April 7, 2017 at 7:11 pm

    heating rocks and wrapping them in socks would also work much like the pan. We’ve had so many trees down around here this winter, but we do have heat, and no babies. You did well and I’m glad it all worked out. Now you will find the top to that other hot water bottle somewhere.

    why does it ask me to enter my name each time now?

     

Oooo...a comment!

 
